whedefense.blogg.se

The lastpass browser extension hasn t been installed
The lastpass browser extension hasn t been installed













Self-hosted instances of Bitwarden isn’t an after-thought either as the company behind it considered self-hosting a “first-class feature”. If where to announce they were shutting down tomorrow, you could grab the source from their servers and host it yourself to ensure continued service. Their apps, extension, and online services are all open-source. You’ve to rely on their infrastructure and will to continue operating the service without interference.īitwarden on the other hand is open-source from top to bottom.

the lastpass browser extension hasn t been installed

LastPass is a proprietary software and service. I’ve also found that Bitwarden displays error messages in situations were LastPass would just silently fail to perform the requested operation. Bitwarden’s calm blue icon is less alarming and I subjectively strongly prefer it over LastPass’ icon. LastPass’ toolbar icon in my browsers used a glaring red color a color normally reserved to indicate that something is broken or requires your attention. Bitwarden is everywhere I am and everywhere I can foresee finding myself - whereas LastPass suggest you switch your browser to continue using their service. My browser of choice, Firefox, clearly haven’t been a priority for LastPass.īitwarden have desktop apps for Linux, MacOS, and Windows as well as mobile apps for Android and iOS and browser extensions for just about all web browsers - including the underdogs like Vivaldi and Brave with their tiny marketshares. In my experience, the LastPass extension for Firefox has been only getting more and more buggy with time. They’ve also got a long history of shipping outdated versions of their extensions to Firefox users over several years. They were slow to migrate their extension to WebExtensions, the new Chromium-inspired extension API used since Firefox Quantum. However, they left the LastPass extension for Firefox for Android to rot for over a year before abandoning it. LastPass have been pretty good about being available in every web browser and on every platform.

the lastpass browser extension hasn t been installed the lastpass browser extension hasn t been installed

Platform availabilityīitwarden and LastPass both offer free hosted password management services with clients available for multiple popular platforms. I’ll go through a few points that I feel were important to me when deciding on a password manager, and compare how Bitwarden vs LastPass lives up to my expectations. Then LastPass began stripping away platform support and I started looking for an alternate password manager. I’ve been using LastPass despite never having liked or fully trusted them. My brain would explode if I had to remember all the individual accounts and password details I need to login in to every week. I’ve got hundreds of accounts and passwords, and I need a good password manager with good integration with my web browsers.















The lastpass browser extension hasn t been installed